Skip to content

Music Notes

Words make you think a thought. Music makes you feel a feeling. A song makes you feel a thought.


A new company, TheRevolution LLC is aiming to provide the direct tools necessary for indie and underground musicians to promote their music through their fans. The concept is for artists to create “virtual street teams” by rewarding fans who promote their music with “fan commissions,” which could range from T-shirts, free concert tickets, and CDs to meet-and-greets, and even cash. Fans go about promoting their favorite musicians by posting music players onto their websites, whether it is a blog, Facebook page, or personal website.

Since the appeal of TheRevolution LLC seems somewhat too good to be true, I decided to try to create a media player of my own, and to post it to my WordPress blog site. TheRevolution LLC required me to fill out my name, email, and address in which my “commissions” will be sent to. After hesitantly agreeing to submit my personal information, I was given a fan ID, and the option to create a player, and essentially upload it to my site. Upon browsing for prospective artists whose commission I would be receiving, I finally realized that the website currently gives fans access to just over 60 artists, none of which I had never heard of.

Despite the lack of variety, I proceeded with choosing an artist in an attempt to create my player, and get that commission. Julian Lennon/James Scott Cook was my artist of choice, as I added them to my “Player” list and opted to get the code for my blog. A box popped up showing the music player itself, along with the option to share it. I was then asked to click on the “Copy Player Code” button, and to “simply paste the code to the web page you want this player to appear on.” Easy enough right?

I don’t consider myself a very technology-friendly person, yet after having my WordPress blog for over a year that is the one site I can easily navigate through, while knowing all the options available to me. After failing to find a spot to “simply paste” my code into, I went back to TheRevolution website in hopes of finding out where exactly to stick the HTML code. Located conveniently at the top of the page was a ”Help” button, where I was reassured that copying the code was “easy to do,” and “not to worry.” Apparently, the Facebook application is so simple, that TheRevolution didn’t even bother to explain the instructions (maybe I would have better luck there.) Their attempt to help with my issue of where to stick the HTML was to tell me, “select the Get Webpage Code link next to the music player you want to post. Then, click Copy Player Code. That’s it. Now, go to the webpage you want the music player to appear on and paste the code in its HTML.” Needless to say, I gave up.

If there’s a soul out there who has successfully uploaded a media player to their blog site, I beseech you for your help. For all us non-HTML experts, who are unaware of how to “simply paste” HTML code onto an already-built website which doesn’t belong to us, TheRevolution is simply a lost cause. Not to mention, the site is laden with spelling errors. Those fans expecting commission are also susceptible to not getting their “payment,” due to a “what if?” mentality of if the artists just never respond. No contract holds the artists to paying fans, making it particularly easy for artists to get their “virtual street teams,” without rewarding their fans. All in all, if TheRevolution is truly out to revolutionize music promotion, the site and the concept could use a little work.

